About the Independent Commission

A group of distinguished European policymakers have formed an independent Commission to examine the challenges and opportunities presented by Turkey's possible membership in the European Union.

The Commission is made up of former heads of state and government, foreign ministers and European commissioners, and other Europeans who have previously held high positions in public office. Martti Ahtisaari is the chairman of the Commission. Albert Rohan is rapporteur. The British Council is supporting the Independent Commission in partnership with the Open Society Foundation–Turkey.

The Independent Commission on Turkey is supported by the
British Council and the Open Society Foundation–Turkey.
Independent Commission on Turkey